Lagos PDP Congress: Sorting And Counting Of Votes Commences

Sorting and counting of votes have commenced in the ongoing Lagos State Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) congress which started on Sunday.

The voting which began at 6:00 pm on Sunday after long hours of accreditation ended at about 5:38 am on Monday at the congress venue in Ikeja GRA.

Thirty-nine offices were contested by various party members in the congress, the News Agency of Nigeria reports.

The delegates from the 20 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Lagos State cast their ballot for all the candidates of their choice.

The number of accredited delegates for each LGAs are Agege (87), Alimosho (100), Amuwo-Odofin (96), Ajeromi Ifelodun (95), Apapa (106), Badagry (113), Epe (179), Eti Osa (39), Ibeju-Lekki (45), Ifako Ijaiye (85), Ikeja (75), Ikorodu (130) and Kosofe (41).

The accredited delegates in Lagos Mainland are 83, Lagos Island (31), Mushin (104), Ojo (103), Oshodi-Isolo (88), Surulere (95), Somolu, (91).

Earlier, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Gov. Douye Diri of Bayelsa, had urged the delegates to work in the interest of the party.

However, the two leading contenders for the chairmanship seat are Mr Philips Aivoji and Dr Amos Fawole.

The rescheduled congress was held following the aborted Lagos PDP’s Congress held on October 16, 2021.

The congress was conducted under the watch of agents and the officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission

Leave a Reply