Miners Association of Nigeria Commences Electoral Process

‘The Miners Association of Nigeria has commenced the process of electing a new National Executive Council (NEC), a statement from the umbrella association of Nigerian miners has said.

The statement, titled ‘Miners Association of Nigeria Commences Electoral Process,’ signed by the Secretary of the Board of Trustees, Engr Niran Ajibade, was issued after the inauguration of an Electoral Committee to drive the process.

According to the statement, the process became necessary in view of a three-month extension given to the present NEC by the Extra Ordinary Virtual Congress held on the 29th of March, 2023.

The statement said: ‘Earlier in the course of the inauguration exercise, the Chairman, Board of Trustees (BoT), Alh Sani Shehu, charged the Committee members to see their appointment as a great honor and a call to service which they must discharge honestly, purposefully and with a sense of duty.’

The Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Alh Majidadi Musa Mainasara, on behalf of his colleagues, commended the BoT and the NEC for considering them worthy of the assignment which he promised to discharge with utmost dedication and to the best of their ability.

The Electoral Committee has Simon Adogba as Secretary while other members are Kenneth Odita, Bello Ella, Igwe Okwy Agbo, Hassan Mamman and Dayo Falegan.

The Committee is expected to come up with the electoral process time-table, candidate qualifications and other necessary guidelines.

In a related development, the Association further issued a ‘Notice of Constitution and Inauguration of Electoral Committee of Miners Association of Nigeria,’ in which it stated as follows:

‘In accordance with the provisions of the Constitution of our Association and consequent upon the resolution of the Extra Ordinary Virtual General Congress held on 29th March, 2023, the Board of Trustees has constituted an Electoral Committee to oversee the election into the various offices of the National Executive Council of the Association.’

The Association listed Members of the Electoral Committee which was inaugurated today, 16th May, 2023 at the National Secretariat of the Association as follows:

  1. Majidadi Musa Mainasara – Chairman;
  2. Simon Adogba – Secretary;
  3. Dayo Falegan  – Member;
  4. 4) Kenneth Odita – Member;
  5. Igwe Okwy Agbo – Member;
  6. Bello Ella – Member;
  7. Hassan Mamman – Member.

The Press Statement assured that the Committee will come up with the election time-table, candidate qualifications and other necessary guidelines for the smooth conduct of the election, adding that members should avail themselves of further communications and cooperate with the committee for a credible process in the overall interest of the Association and the mining industry at large.

Leave a Reply