Judiciary: Supreme Court Justices deplete again as Abdu Aboki bows out of apex court

The Justices of the Supreme Court will on Thursday, September 15 deplete to 13 when eminent jurist, Justice Abdu Aboki will bow out of the Apex Court at a valedictory session marking his formal retirement.

Justice Aboki clocked 70 years, being the statutory retirement age for Justices of the Supreme Court on Friday, 5th August, 2022, but the valedictory court session could not be held then due to the annual vacation of the Court.

Hon. Justice Abdu Aboki was sworn-in as Justice of the Supreme Court alongside seven other jurists on the 6th day of November, 2020, thus spending a rather short period of one year and eight months on the apex court’s bench.

His Lordship was born on 5th August, 1952 in Kano. He had his primary and secondary education in Kano State before proceeding to Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria where he studied Law.

Upon his graduation in 1976, he proceeded to the Nigerian Law School in Victoria Island, Lagos; and was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1977.

Justice Aboki was appointed a High Court Judge in Kano State Judiciary in 1987. He was elevated to the Court of Appeal in 2006; from where he came to the Supreme Court in 2020.

He had served in different capacities in many Committees at different levels of Courts in the course of his career.

He had equally attended several conferences and workshops where he presented scholarly papers within and outside the country.

A statement by the Director of Press and Information for the Supreme Court, Dr Festus Akande indicated that valedictory court session for Justice Aboki would hold at 10 am at the main courtroom of the Supreme Court and will be presided over by the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, (CJN) Hon. Justice Olukayode Ariwoola.

The exit of Justice Abok has, however, depleted further the number of Justices on the bench of the Apex Court.

It would be recalled that Justices Mary Ekaego Peter Odili and Ejembi Eko had retired from the court this year.

The remaining 13 Justices of the court are: Olukayode Ariwoola, Ag CJN, Musa Dattijo Muhammad, Kudirat Motommori Olatokunbo Kekere Ekun, Inyang Okoro, Chima Centus Nweze, Amina Adamu Augie and Uwani Abba Aji.

Others are Lawal Garba, Helen Morenikeji Ogunwumiju, Ibrahim N.M. Saulawa, Adamu Jauro, Tijjani Abubakar and Emmanuel Akomaye Agim.

Leave a Reply